[ Palgwes ][ picture of logo TKOL inside open hands ]

All comments are welcome and appreciated.

Thank you for visiting my Web Page. . .

Kicho Form 1
[ Animated Palgwe Form, Kicho 1 ]

Palgwe Animation Provided
by Sabunim Webb, 5th dan

Forms, Katas, TaeGeuk, Hyung, Palgwes, etc., are a series of defending and attacking movements performed against imaginary opponents in a set pattern. Through the practice of forms, students come to learn the applications of various techniques of the Martial Art. Forms serve as an aide in development and refinement of coordination, balance, timing, breath control and rhythm, all of which are essential skills to the Martial Artists. The term "Palgwe" is translated as "Eight Powers of the Universe", and these eight Palgwe hyungs are based on these conceptual powers.

Palgwe 1 Iljang:  Concept of Heaven (Keon). It is symbolic of the beginnings of life, and it is the basic principal of this introductory hyung.

Palgwe 2 Yijang:  Concept of joyfulness (Tae). It's movements are applied when the practitioner is in a gentle, yet strong state of mind.

Palgwe 3 Samjang:  Concept of fire (Ri). It is symbolic of one's passion, flickering and flaring at different intervals, and engulfing everything in it's path. From this hyung the practitioner learns to develop a multitude of quick, successive techniques.

Palgwe 4 Sajang:  Concept of thunder (Jin). Thunder evokes fear in many people, and this hyung uses this principal to teach the practitioner to be calm, even in the face of impending danger, this form also combines strikes and blocks in such a manner that they instantly follow each other, similar to the relationship of thunder and lightning.

Palgwe 5 Ohjang:  Concept of wind (Seon). Wind is an element of nature which can be gentle or destructive. This form teaches the student to combine and alternate gentleness with strength and speed.

Palgwe 6 Yookjang:  Concept of water (Gam). Water is an element that never looses it's composure, and this leads to it's inherent strength. This hyung teaches the student that they can overcome any problems in life without sacrificing their state of being.

Palgwe 7 Chiljang:  Concept of mountains (San). Mountains are stable bodies, high and majestic in character, but with definite stopping places. This hyung is symbolic of a conservative approach to one's life ambitions and promote the practice of not living in a hasty manner.

Palgwe 8 Paljang:  Concept of earth (Gon). This hyung is designed to summarize the seven previous hyung, as well as to introduce several new techniques. At this stage, the practitioner reviews all previous material before making the transition to the black belt level.

Animated version to Palgwes 1-8

Palgwe 1    Palgwe 2     Palgwe 3     Palgwe 4     Palgwe 5     Palgwe 6     Palgwe 7     Palgwe 8

Step Sequence to Palgwes 1-7

Palgwe 1    Palgwe 2     Palgwe 3     Palgwe 4     Palgwe 5     Palgwe 6     Palgwe 7

There is also a Palgwe 8 step sequence, but I do not have a file to provide at this time.

Back to Top

[ One Steps  ] [ General Terms  ] [ Kicking Combos  ] [ Milous' Patterns  ] [ Belt Colors ] [ Martial Arts Links ] [ Photos ]

Background  / Form Training  / Lil o This Lil o That  / Dojo Rules  / How to Tie Your Belt  / 10 Commandments  / Related Links  /  Other Sites by Milous
Click on picture to go back home[return to homepage]
give me something to read[sends e-mail to Milous]

You may also address comments to[sends e-mail to Milous]

© Copyright Milous Temple Jr. 2001 all rights reserved